Unclaimed Property Reporting

Unclaimed property consists of tangible and intangible property that has been abandoned

for a one year or longer period and includes refunds, wages, bank accounts, utility deposits, insurance policy proceeds, and more.


For detailed information on Unclaimed Property please visit the Louisiana Department of Treasury’s website at https://louisiana.findyourunclaimedproperty.com/app/reporting-guidelines or select the links below.



Frequently Asked Questions

What types of property should I look for?

Checks you've issued but were never cashed by the recipient; for example: payroll, patient refunds and patient account balances never used nor returned to the patient.


How far back should I look to find this unclaimed property?

There is a specified period of time (based on property type) for property to remain unclaimed before it should be reported to the state. Ranges for the 3 types of property that most apply to you are listed in Step 1.


What if I have nothing to report!?

A zero or negative report is not required unless specifically requested.

What if I don't file?

The unclaimed property law provides that holders who fail to comply with the law may be audited and the holder may be required to pay the costs of the examination. Additionally, all holders are required to pay interest a Louisiana Civil Code Article 2924 on all property not reported or delivered when due as required by law.



The Reporting Process

Step 1: Review records to identify unclaimed property


  • Uncashed Payroll Checks you issued between 07/01/21 – 06/30/22
  • Uncashed Refund Checks you issued between 07/01/19 – 06/30/20
  • Unclaimed Patient Account Balances as of 07/01/17 - 06/30/18


For a full list of additional property types click here.

Step 2: Send written notice to property owner.



  • Not required for amounts under $50.
  • Send between 07/01/23 and 08/31/23.


Example of Outreach Letter found here (Slide 31).

Step 3: Prepare report, Submit Data & Make Payment.


  • Report Due October 31st.
  • All amounts must be remitted to the state.
  • Property valued at less than $10 may be reported in aggregate.
  • If known, have the following information available when reporting: Owners full name, last known address, social security number (SSN) or federal tax identification number (FEIN).


Create your report using free HRS Pro software and upload or manually enter owner information here.


Submit Unclaimed Property Payment



Links to Additional Resources

General Information


Cheat Sheet



Unclaimed Property 101