Oct 2, 2019
The Partner College Weekly
ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing this week.
MUST KNOW
Book Donation for our Scholars – order by tomorrow (10/3)!
One of our donors, Pershing Square Foundation, has generously purchased a number of the books, What it Takes, Lessons in the Pursuit of Excellence , for our Scholars. 
 
About the book:  From Blackstone chairman, CEO, and co-founder Stephen A. Schwarzman, a book that uses impactful episodes from his life to show readers how to build, transform, and lead thriving organizations. Click here for more info. 
 
If you would like to order the books to give to Scholars, please email, your name and phone number, college name, mailing address, and number of books you are ordering, to Molly.Tilton@schwarzmanfoundation.org , with subject “TheDream.US Book Donation”. 

Orders must be placed by this Friday (10/4) at 4pm EST. 
CUNY Colleges: You do not need to order; books will be sent to CUNY central for distribution.
 
Books will be sent on a first come first served basis. Please do not order more books than you have Scholars.
Our New Wellness Advocate for Scholars, Elizabeth Hernandez
Who: Elizabeth Hernandez, a psychologist with extensive experience helping immigrant students.

Where:  Call or text  (818) 939-3071

When:   Mon, Weds, & Thurs:
8pm to 11pm EST, 7pm to 10pm CST, 5pm to 8pm PST
Friday and Sunday:
12pm to 3pm EST, 11am to 2pm CST, 9am to 12pm PST

What:  Scholars may reach out for help with any familial, social, academic, or scholarship issues that cause them emotional stress. Marisol will provide information and tools and/or refer them to the Mental Health Liaison on their campus.  
Immigrants Rising's Entrepreneurship Guide
Immigrants Rising has created a guide: 5 TIPS FOR EDUCATORS TO HELP STUDENTS GET STARTED AS INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS/FREELANCERS.

Use this guide to support your students as they get established as contractors and freelancers. Learn how to provide resources, answer questions, and make referrals.

Scholar Survey Says...
93% of Scholars are “Very” or “Moderately” satisfied with the process of receiving their award.  Thank you for establishing trust with Scholars around the enrollment verification process. We continue to work toward improving the process of disbursing scholarship funds.    
FYI - Emails to Scholars
In this space we will include emails we recently sent or will send to Scholars, so you are aware of the communications that they are receiving.

9/30/2019
Career Connections: Start your Career with National Grid
To: Juniors and Seniors

10/01/2019
Skills for College, Skills for Life: Your Rights as an Employee with DACA/TPS
To: All Scholars

10/02/2019
Career Connections: Info Session with Teach For America on 10/9
To: Nat and Opp Scholars at 4 Yr Colleges


You can see all past communications to Scholars here.