November 3, 2022
We need more time to review
  • Last week, we sent you a note stating we would request a 90-day comment period.
  • Now we've looked at the 60% Draft Master Plan posted online Friday, October 28, by St. Paul Parks & Recreation Department -- all 239 pages! And it presents a significant number of major new structural changes compared with their earlier preferred plan.
  • There needs to be more than a 30-day comment period.
  • A new request: We are asking the Parks & Rec Department for a 120-day comment period-- --- and we ask all of you to request this of Director Andy Rodriguez, your city council members, the mayor's office, public works, and the city attorney's office. This is no time to take a passive approach.
  • We need more time to study, measure, walk the plan, and ask questions.
  • You are tax-paying citizens as well. Therefore, we encourage you to contact Director Andy Rodriguez and other city officials and kindly request a 120-day comment period.
  • Contact info below in the white box below.
  • Could you read through the testimonials that have been posted on the SOS website?

Summit Avenue is too valuable to Saint Paul to rush any major decision.

Sign our petition at www.savesummitavenue.org

Add your comments on the plan on www.engagestpaul.org
Director of Parks & Recreation, Andy Rodriguez Andy.Rodriguez@ci.stpaul.mn.us
651-266-6365

Director of Public Works, Sean Kershaw
Sean.Kershaw@ci.stpaul.mn.us
651-266-6100

Project Manager for the Summit Regional Trail, Parks & Recreation Landscape Architect
mary.norton@ci.stpaul.mn.us
651-266-6407

Mayor's Office, Deputy Press Secretary Kamal Baker kamal.baker@ci.stpaul.mn.us

City attorney Lyndsey Olson
Lyndsey.Olson@ci.stpaul.mn.us
651-266-8710

City attorney's office, head of the civil division, Trina Chernos
Trina.Chernos@ci.stpaul.mn.us
651-266-8710

City Councilors:
Ward 1: Russel Balenger ward1@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8610
Ward 2: Rebecca Noecker ward2@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8620
Ward 3: Chris Tolbert ward3@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8630
Ward 4: Mitra Jalali ward4@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8640
Ward 5: President Amy Brendmoen ward5@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8650
Ward 6: Nelsie Yang ward6@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8660
Ward 7: Jane Prince ward7@ci.stpaul.mn.us 651-266-8670
ABOUT SOS (Save Our Street)
Save Our Street is a citizen group that seeks to educate and advocate for the preservation of the historic streetscape of Summit Avenue as a treasured St. Paul destination and a safe, tree-lined, multi-modal corridor for generations to come.
SOS Steering Committee Chair: Gary Todd Grtodd@comcast.net 651-470-4720