May, 2018

Join Our Mailing List 


Corporate Sponsors

Elite Diesel  

Cajun Canyons 2013



Pelican Rest

Performance Diesel Logo  

Specialty Heat Treat


JB1 Survey


  Paparda Rey  



Bays Dental Group
Friendly Properties of Texas
Honore's Crawfish Cafe
Houston Big Game Fishing Club's
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
The Annual Fundraising and Awards Banquet was a tremendous success again this year!  

Thanks to our incredible Banquet Committee and the generosity of our Donors and Buyers, we are excited to report that the Club sold over $145,000 in the raffle and live auction!

We would like to congratulate the 2017 Club Awards Program winners and Captain Ryan Doxey!  Ryan won the 7th Annual Jim Peachey Outstanding Captain Award!  
To view pictures from the banquet, please visit  HBGFC.  

Carol Beal
Daye Blume
Debbie King
Evan Villarruel
Heather Curry
Heather Harper
Samantha Bowen
Sherri Doxey
Stacie Legge
Susan Hall
Allan Legge
Amber Ott
Jack Beal
Jenny Nagemueller
Jimmy Hall
John Bowen
Kacie Carroll
Katie Westmoreland
Kenneth Doxey
Kevin Deerman
Kevin Harper
Randy Bright
Randy King
Robert Rickett

Allan and Stacie Legge,  Bill and Amy Hunt,  Boat Mat Corp.
Cajun Canyons Billfish Classic,  Captain Kenneth Doxey, 
Casa Del mar Beachfront Suites,  Casey Salbert, Rogue Wave Solutions,  Chris Costello,  Chupacabra Sportfishing,  Coastline Marine/Coastline Custom Aluminum,  Cotton USA,  Crown Trophy,  Daye Blume,  D-Dey Response Group,  DENY Cooler Locks,  Doxey Lures,
Fred Pyle, Arrowhead Ranch,  Frio's Gourmet Pops,  Hilton's Realtime-Navigator,  Honore's Crawfish CafĂ©,  In The Bite Magazine,  Jack and Carol Beal, Friendly Properties of Texas,  Jeco's Marine and Tackle,  Jimmy and Susan Hall, 
John and Samantha Bowen, Elite Diesel Service,  Keen M Blue Water Encounters,  Kevin and Heather Harper,  Larry Rackley,  Los Suenos Resort and Marina,  Marty Griffith, 
Mike and Lisa Miller,  Mississippi Gulf Coast Billfish Classic,  Oh Snap Lures,  Pam Basco,  Pelagic Gear,  Perry and Cinda Forrester,  Randy and Debbie King,  Reactor Resources,  Riondo's Ristorante,  Sailfish Oasis Lodge,  Serious Tackle,  Short Corner Tackle,  Texas Billfish Classic,  Texas International Fishing Tournament (TIFT),  Texas Legends Billfish Tournament,  Walton Ranch,  Waterloo Rod Company,  Yacht Equipment Services (Y.E.S.)

Alan and Robyn Roberts, Bill and Amy Hunt,  Brandon and Melissa Griffith,  Bryan Meyer,  Chris and Erika Heule,  Cory and Lauren Whidden,  Darryl and Lori Schroeder,  Edward and Ber,  Jack and Carol Beal,  Jeff and Kelly Ortloff,  John and Christy Nau,  John LoMonaco,  KDM Investments,  Kenny Brown,  Kirk and Theresa Elliott,  Marty Griffith,  Marty Strakos,  Mike and Lisa Miller,  Perry and Cinda Forrester,  Randy and Debbie King,  Suzan Bosard        

The Lone Star Shootout
Caracol Club, Port O'Connor, Texas  

July 24-29, 2018!


We would like to thank our early VIP participants for continuing to support the Lone Star Shootout! For those of you who haven't entered the Shootout yet,  May 15th is the deadline to keep your VIP Priority Slip Status!  

After May 15th, all slips will be reserved based on date of entry.

CLICK HERE to download a  SHOOTOUT  entry form and enter today! By entering today, you will  secure a  prime boat slip , save $350 off the regular entry fee and have a chance to win an entry fee reimbursement!

We look forward to seeing you in July for
The Biggest and Best in the West...THE LONE STAR SHOOTOUT!
For further information, visit the LONE STAR SHOOTOUT or call Randy Bright at 713-816-2165 or the Club office at 409-744-2307. 
Our friend, Wayne Timmermann
It is with great sadness that we bring news of the passing of our dear friend and Founding Club Member, Wayne Timmermann.  

Wayne was a tremendous blessing to so many.  Wayne's zest for life, infectious smile and laughter, his passion for the outdoors and hunting and fishing along with his always can-do, helpful nature are just a few trademarks of his legacy.

The community he served and the friends he blessed will continue to miss him terribly.

We would like to thank Wayne's friends and family, along with the Victoria and Port O'Connor Community, who have donated to the Club's Scholarship Fund in Wayne's honor.  100% of the donations will be utilized to financially assist deserving students attend college.
Captain's Corner
Written by Captain Kevin Deerman
We added a Top Outboard Division this year to the Club's yearlong Awards Program Tournament to encourage outboard boat owners who may feel that larger boats have an advantage in range and capability, to compete in the tournament. Now that our fishing season has finally started I'd like to further explain the new Outboard Division. The Top Private Boat and Top Outboard Boat categories are ONLY separate in overall point standings for weighed Blue Marlin (in tournaments) and billfish release points. Outboard owners may select on the verification form whether they are participating in the Top Outboard Division OR the Top Private Boat Division. The Swordfish Division is a boat category regardless if the boat is an inboard or outboard. Top Male, Top Female, Top Junior, Top Captain, Top Mate, Tuna, Wahoo, and Dolphin categories are awarded to the individual member on ANY boat. Please do not hesitate to call me at 409-789-2975 if you need any additional information.
The Learning Curve
Written by Captain Troy Day
As the season kicks off, check out this ballyhoo rigging tutorial created by our friends at InTheBite magazine featuring a Club Sponsor, the Sailfish Oasis in Guatemala -  TUTORIAL.  The extra stitching is kind of unique, and they feel it helps the ballyhoo hold together longer for a 2nd or 3rd bite if needed. On baits used as teasers (like on daisy chains), they stitch even farther down the ballyhoo.  

On another note, the Yearlong Awards Program Tournament is finally off to a good start, with several releases this past week! In order for your points to count, make sure you have renewed your membership, as the grace period ended on March 1st.  Fish caught/released won't count unless your membership is current.
It's Fishing Season! 
Make sure your 2018 Membership is renewed before catching the big one!   CLICK HERE to continue your generous support and involvement in the Club by renewing your membership today.    

Club Awards Program
Participate in the Club's Yearlong Awards Program Tournament!  CLICK HERE   for full program details and verification forms.  


Top Private Boat
1st - Big Torch, Owner Steve Ferguson - 1,000 points
2nd - DECARB, Owners Sam Moore, Matt Moore and Doug Chamberlain - 500 points

Top Captain
1st - Jeff Erwin - 1,000 points
2nd - Troy Day - 500 points

Top Mate
1st - Patrick Zurovetz - 1,000 points
2nd - Ryan Doxey - 500 points

Top Private Boat  
1st - Slight Edge, Owner Perry Forrester - 17,500 points
2nd - No Compromise, Owner Alan Roberts - 4,900 points
3rd - Huntress, Owner Darryl Schroeder - 4,600 points

Top Male Angler 
1st - Perry Forrester - 2,700 points
2nd - Darryl Schroeder - 1,400 points
3rd - Taylor Norris - 1,100 points

Top Female Angler
1st -  Cinda Forrester - 6,600 points
2nd - Lori Schroeder - 1,300 points
3rd - Robyn Roberts - 500 points
Robert Rickett, President
John Bowen, 1st Vice President
Allan Legge, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Troy Day, Secretary 
Jack Beal
James Helm
Kevin Deerman 
Marty Griffith
Randy King
Richard Richardson
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313


Like us on Facebook  View on Instagram