The Federation of Ontario Cottagers' Associations Incorporated (FOCA)

Notice of Annual Meeting of Members

Saturday, March 2, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. EST

(as part of the Spring Seminar event happening from 9:00am to 3:00pm)

Bayview Golf and Country Club, 25 Fairway Heights Dr, Thornhill, ON L3T 3X1, 

and by Zoom Webinar


1. To approve the Minutes of the FOCA Annual General Meeting held on March 4, 2023.

2. To receive the Financial Statements of FOCA, which are comprised of the Statements of Financial Position, Operations and Net Assets, and Cash Flows, all for the year ended September 30, 2023.

3. To approve the following motion: That Member Association fees be increased to a base fee of $150 (from $125) and a per-member fee of $5 (from $4). The maximum Membership Fee will be raised to $3,750 (from $3,150). These fees shall apply, effective membership renewals beginning May 1, 2024.

4. To approve the amended FOCA bylaws (existing bylaws for reference) and the amended Articles of Incorporation (old Objects for reference) to comply with the Ontario Not-for-Profit Corporations Act.

5. To elect the slate of Directors recommended by the FOCA Governance and Nominations Committee:

Mary Ann Peden, Lake of Bays Association (Second Term)

Eric Stuart, Lake Wahnapitae Home & Campers Association (Second Term)

Carol Armstrong, Picard Lake Cottager's Association (First Term)

Katharine Devlin, Honey Harbour Association (First Term)

Diana Piquette, Lake Joseph North Association (First Term)

6. To appoint Clarkson Rouble LLP as FOCA's auditor for the 2023-2024 fiscal year.

7. Any other matters that may properly come before the said meeting.

Called on behalf of the Directors of The Federation of Ontario Cottagers' Associations, Inc.

by Ian Crawford, President

The FOCA 2022-2023 Board of Directors:

Richard Blickstead - Basshaunt Lake Homeowners’ and Cottagers’ Association 

Donna Commerford - Big Gull Lake East End Cottage Association   

Ian Crawford - Captain Estates Road Association

John Hickey - Indian Point Property Owners Association

Harry Kim - Loon Lake Property Owners Association

Deborah Martin-Downs - Muskoka Lakes Association

Mary Ann Peden - Lake of Bays Association

Richard Peters - Sunny Lake Cottage Association

Michael Peterson - Big Rideau Lake Association

Eric Stuart - Lake Wahnapitae Home & Campers Association


Questions about the business items of the 2024 FOCA AGM can be directed in advance of the meeting to the Executive Director Terry Rees

or President Ian Crawford