News from Home banner - cropped.jpg

Spalding MFA Alumni Association Newsletter. August 2022 Issue

Absolutely everything the MFA Alumni Association does

A current list, until somebody dreams up something new.

Congratulations, Summer 2022 Graduates!

Darcy Cleaver (P/W4CYA/PW)

Joe Kasl (PW)

John Styron (F)

Opportunities Coming Up

AWP registration waivers: Available now! First come, first served. Email Katy

Aug. 28: Distinguished Visiting Alumni lecture proposals due.

Sept. 1 – 2: Support the MFA alumni association on Spalding University’s Giving Day. Donor match!

Sept. 7: Deadline to register for Business of Writing Seminars, happening Sept. 10. Talks on queries and synopses, book proposals, media interviews, and campus content!

Sept. 12: Registration deadline for SpaldingCon workshops, Nov. 16-18! In-person with Kenny Cook (prose), Bruce Marshall Romans (TV), Katerina Stoykova (poetry). Virtual with Beth Bauman (prose), Robin Lippincott (flash F/CNF), Doug Manuel (poetry).

Oct. 1: Deadline to register for Writing at the Brown writers’ retreat, Nov. 12-18.

Oct 22: Save the date: Amber Tamblyn and U.S. Poet Laureate Ada Limón in conversation on Spalding’s campus about Tamblyn’s anthology Listening in the Dark.

Call for Contributing Editors: We’re looking for alums to read submissions and solicit work for Good River Review. Interested? Email managing editor Ellyn Lichvar.

Tap into our collective writing energy!

Join our weekly “Write with Me” sessions:

Sundays, 6-9 p.m. ET with host Chella Courington

Click to join, or go to and enter meeting ID: 824 5106 4561 and Passcode 123123

Tuesdays, 7 p.m. ET (30-60 minutes) with host by Jill Cox-Cordova (F '17)

Click to join, or go to and enter meeting ID: 857 5953 0130 and Passcode: 112233

Fridays, 10 a.m. ET (around 75 minutes) with host Terry Price (F '06), who offers an inspirational thought.

Click to join, or go to and enter meeting ID 849 4633 5334 and Passcode: 690916

Spalding Water Cooler

Hosted by Mervyn Seivwright (P ’19) and Cristina Trapani-Scott (F/P ’09), the Water Cooler is a supportive space to discuss the challenges and joys of the writing life. Held every third Sunday of 2022 on Zoom, 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT. Watch social media for the registration link!

Alumni News

The most recent Life of a Writer is up on the Good River Review blog.

Send your Life of a Writer news. Next deadline is October 15, but you can submit anytime!

Check the Spalding MFA in Writing Alumni Association Facebook group to connect with other alums. Not a member? Ask to join

2022 gifts

Our thanks to the following donors for their generous support:


Cindy L. Brady (F '13)

Christina Lee Brown

Kate Bustillos (W4CYA '21)

Kathleen Driskell, Chair

Elizabeth Dallmann (CNF '06)

Lynnell Edwards, Assoc. Director

Kelly C. Falzone (P '22)

Catherine Foy (F '13)

Kimberly Freeman

Marjetta Geerling (W4CYA '11)

Karen George (F '09)

Linda Ginter-Brown (F '19)

Carroll D. Grossman (CNF '21)

Lora J. Hilty (F '12)

Lisa Hockstein (F '22)

Angela Jackson-Brown (F '09), faculty 

Bonnie Omer Johnson (F '04)

Michelle Tyrene Johnson (PW/SW '22)

Kaylene Johnson-Sullivan (CNF '03)

Joseph M. Kasl (PW '22)

Hilary Kretchmer (F)

Claudia Labin (F '07)

Nana Lampton (P ’04)

Elizabeth Wilks Layton (W4CYA '21)

Jody Lisberger, retired faculty

Carol Zack Logan

Elizabeth Hall Magill (F '22)

Karen Mann, Co-founder and Administrative Director

Tori Murden McClure (CNF '05; President Spalding University) and Mac McClure

Quincy Gray McMichael (CNF/PrWr '22)

Diana McQuady (F '14)

Precious McKenzie (W4CYA '20)

Amanda Michael

Marilyn Moss (CNF ’09)

Mary Lou Northern (F '11)

Angela D. Ray (P '22)

H. L. Ritchey

Suzanne Craig Robertson (F/CNF '22)

John Styron (F '22)

Diane Sweeney (F '07)

Dan and Joy White

Dr. Elizabeth Winston (P '15)

Kylie Ayn Yockey (F/P '22)

Katy Yocom, Assoc. Director (F ’03) 

Honor a favorite writer

Consider making a gift in honor of a favorite mentor, a fellow student who traveled through the program at your side, or a friend or family member who believed in you.

Scholarship referrals

The $2,000 Alumni Select Scholarship is for applicants you refer. February 1 is the next application deadline.

A Spalding lift

Please update your website and bio with our new name, the Sena Jeter Naslund-Karen Mann Graduate School of Writing (or, for short, the Naslund-Mann Graduate School of Writing). Thanks for linking to us!

Did You Find This Email in Your Spam Box?

Add us to your Safe Senders list. This article explains how.

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram