January, 2016

Join Our Mailing List 


Corporate Sponsors





Galati Yacht Sales  


Bac Trac Plumbing Logo   



Elite Diesel Logo  


 Pelican Rest  


Tilson Logo 






 Allure Logo

Cajun Canyons 2013




Farquhar Financial Services  


  Gartner Coatins 




 The Tarp Depot 






Del Papa Bud 2013    




 Paparda Rey  




R&S Yacht Service 




Texas Legends Logo  





Breakwater Marine 

Bryan P. Ritchey, D.D.S

Central Texas BBQ

Charter Lakes Marine Insurance 

Phoenix Chemical Technologies

Richard Richardson Insurance, TWFG Insurance Services

Rustic Furniture Land 

 Serious Tackle 

Silver King Adventures

The Houston Big Game Fishing Club
7819 Broadway, Suite 100
Galveston, Texas  77554
T: 409-744-2307, F: 409-744-2313
Houston Big Game Fishing Club's   
Monthly Newsletter
On the Wire
Happy New Year!
On behalf of the Houston Big Game Fishing Club, we would like to wish you a very happy, successful and prosperous 2016! 

2015 marked our eleventh year and what a year it was!  We hosted an incredibly successful banquet and tournament, which boasted an incredible donation of $48,245 to the Club's Charitable Program.
The contribution funded 13 college scholarships as well as donations to the Ronald McDonald House, The Billfish Foundation, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Warrior's Weekend, Turning Point Tournament, Port O'Connor Toy Run, Houston Safe Boating Council and the Club's Fun Fishing Day!

We want to thank each and every one of you for your generosity and your continued support and we look forward to seeing you at the Club's upcoming events!   


12th Annual Banquet

Omni Hotel-Galleria, Houston
April 16, 2016

Bloody Thursday Breakfast
Port O'Connor
July 14, 2016

Caracol Yacht Club, Port O'Connor
July 19 - 24, 2016
Michael and Lisa Thorn-Leeson
We would like to sincerely thank past President Michael Thorn-Leeson for his time served as President of the Club.  Michael held the presidency position for the past three years and a director's position for three years prior.  Michael and his wife Lisa have generously donated their time to the Club for many years.  They have both chaired the Banquet Committee, working hard to ensure a successful banquet year after year.  They have not only donated their time, but have also donated raffle items, auction items and table centerpieces.  Michael and Lisa also donate their time to the Scholarship Committee, helping to select deserving Texas students for scholarships.  We greatly appreciate you both and your passion for the overall success of the Club.
Welcome aboard... 
Please join us in welcoming our new 2016 President, Randy King.  Randy and his wife Debbie are long time Club members and corporate sponsors.  Passionate about offshore fishing, Randy is the owner of Paparda Rey, a charter boat operation out of Freeport. Randy and Debbie actively support the Annual Banquet and the Lone Star Shootout.  We would also like to welcome to the Board of Directors, John Bowen, owner of Elite Diesel Service and James Helm.  Both John and James have actively supported the Club for many years.  We look forward to and thank each of our Board of Directors for their time and contributions to the Club this year. 

Randy King, President
Jasen Gast, 1st Vice President
Robert Rickett, 2nd Vice President
Randy Bright, Treasurer
Jack Beal, Secretary 

Allan Legge
Brian Yeager
James Helm
John Bowen 
Kevin Deerman 
Richard Richardson
News from The Billfish Foundation
The Billfish Foundation In recent years, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) has taken great steps to recognize the importance of recreational fishing across the nation and their research continues to reveal the substantial benefits that come from healthy recreational fisheries. Click here to learn about the most current survey conducted regarding the economic benefits of offshore fishing.
2015 Club Awards Program
The 2015 fishing season has come to a close.  This year brought tough competition in each division, new competitors, more female and junior anglers and plenty of fish brought to the docks! 

Reminder: Verification forms must be received no later than 30 days after your catch/release. 

Final 2015 results will be published in the Club's February newsletter.
TEXAS DIVISION - As of 12/22/15
Top Private Boat: Mojo, Owner Will Lett, 12,900 points, Paparda Rey, Owner Randy King, 8,100 points, REHAB, Owner Jasen Gast 6,375 points.
Top Male Angler: Jasen Gast - 4,025 points, Alan Latham - 1,898 points, Will Lett - 1,552 points.
Top Female Angler: Christy Barwise - 1,500 points, Mandy Yeager - 900 points, Lucy Fisher - 100 points.
Top Junior Angler: Kaleb Richardson - 2,250 points, Kassidy Nethery - 200 points.
Top Swordfish: Honesty, Owner Kyle Nethery - 500 points.
Top Blue Marlin: Evan Villaruel - 644 pounds.
Top Dorado: Jeff Todish - 32 pounds.
Top Wahoo: Stephen Yamin - 66.8 pounds.
Top Yellowfin Tuna: Jason Waligura - 169.1 pounds.     

Top Private Boat: Patron, Owner Tom Shumate - 88,350 points, Dream Time, Owner Darryl Schroeder - 43,500 points, Great Escape, Owner Bob Henderson - 17,500 points.
Top Charter Boat: Allure, Owner Hill Dishman - 600 points.
Top Male Angler: Tom Shumate - 44,500 points, Bob Henderson - 20,800 points, Darryl Schroeder - 10,600 points.
Top Female Angler: Meagan Goodwin - 21,500 points, Lori Schroeder - 2,250 points, Sondra Shanklin - 600 points.
Top Junior Angler: Jack Shanklin - 2,550 points, Kassidy Nethery - 1,900 points, Sloane Shanklin - 1,500 points.

Captain's Corner
It's Wahoo season again! With the short weather breaks we've had there haven't been many reports lately, but I'm sure many of you are ready to go fishing! The seawater temperatures are still up near the mid-seventies at the Flower Gardens.  Hopefully the temperature  will drop a bit soon. In the meantime, we will have to start calling Jack Beal and Debbie Conway to get out there and hopefully give us some good reports. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone and best of luck in 2016!