Volume 3 - Issue 1 | July 15, 2023

Cathy Tenney, Editor


It’s official…the 2022-2023 school year has concluded; summer has arrived; and ADSOEF begins its seventh year…today!  We celebrated many successes this past year and will continue to do so as we continue the mission of ADSOEF through 2023 and beyond.  

We would like to take the opportunity to recognize the 2022-2023 Chairman of the ADSOEF Board, Sandy Royer, for her exceptional commitment and tireless devotion to our Foundation’s purpose and mission.   She is to be applauded and commended for skillfully leading, guiding and directing the work of the Foundation this past year.  We are exceedingly grateful and appreciate, beyond measure, her seemly limitless efforts.  Thank you, Chairman Sandy, for a job exceptionally well done!   

OSO members volunteer for and are elected each year to serve as ADSOEF Directors. The ADSOEF Board is comprised of ten elected directors.   The five newly elected 2023-2025 Directors are Brenda Armstrong, OSO State Member; Linda Diltz, Beta Rho; Diana L. Kirkpatrick, Alpha Delta; Sue Loader, Alpha Psi; Melodie McGee, Gamma Nu, 2023-2025 Ohio State Organization Liaison, Ex-officio member; and Tammy Schroeder, Beta Eta; and returning 2022-2024 board members Holly Buente, Gamma Pi; Debra (Debbie) Frazier, Beta Rho; Dr. Lois Harkins, Alpha Lambda; Millie Holzer, Beta Zeta; and Christine (Chris) Snoddy, Alpha Lambda.  The 2023-2024 officers include Diana Kirkpatrick, Chairman; Sue Loader, Vice Chairman; Chris Snoddy, Secretary; and Dr. Lois Harkins, Treasurer.  We all look forward to serving our ADSOEF/OSO membership.

We do value communication and “yes”, most definitely…your input!  When you have suggestions, feedback, comments, and/or questions, feel free to contact us by going to the adsoef.org website.  We are eager to hear from you!

Time to take a break… relax and have a fantastic summer…fall is just around the corner!

The ADSOEF Board of Directors 

2023 OSO/ADSOEF Biennial Seminar

History in the Hills

Imagine and picture this…the beautiful rolling hills of Gallia and Jackson Counties as the scenic backdrop for a summer biennial seminar.  Add near picture perfect weather and you achieve the ideal setting for the 2023 ADSOEF/OSO Biennial Seminar recently held June 8-10.

OSO members gathered in Gallipolis, at the Quality Inn, Thursday evening, June 8, to begin their historical journey of southern Ohio.  Debby Canter, OSO President welcomed the attendees to the “History in the Hills.”   After dinner, Jeanne Jindra, Director of the Welsh Studies Center at the University of Rio Grande, spoke about the intriguing history of the Welsh settlers in Gallia and Jackson Counties.  Following her notable presentation, group fellowship, card and board games were enjoyed by all.

Continue reading about the Biennial Seminar

Update to A. Margaret Boyd Overseas

International Fellowship

On June 19, 2023, the Board of Directors approved an extension of Della Kartika Sari’s Fellowship for 2023-2024. 

From Della:  “I am writing to share with you some good news.  I have a 4.00 GPA for the Spring semester and my Preliminary Coursework Hearing went well.  Referring to the discussions with the Advisory committee members, I should follow with several activities that require funding.” 

Della has adjusted well to living in Cincinnati and the university environment.  We are thankful Gamma Phi Chapter members invited her to become a collegiate member of Delta Kappa Gamma.  Della regularly attends chapter meetings and acquires knowledge about the Society. She participates in activities and volunteers her help with events organized by Gamma Phi.  

ADSOEF congratulates Della on her accomplishments and wishes her continued success in 2023-2024 at the University of Cincinnati! 

Donors Opened their Hearts with total giving from August 2022 through June 30, 2023, equaling  $18,109.48.  Thank you for your generosity for the Future of Education!

 Your heartfelt support is amazing!


Chi Chapter

In honor of Dr. Norma Kirby

Gamma Xi Chapter

In honor of Dr. Norma Kirby

Gamma Theta Chapter

In memory of Carol and Paulette

Gamma Pi Chapter

Gamma Phi Chapter

Linda Lips

Dr. Norma Kirby

In honor of retiring ADSOEF directors

Karyn Kern-Lazear, Sandy Royer and Marilyn Slusser

Joan Avery

In memory of Barbara Blair

Sue Loader

In honor of retiring ADSOEF directors

Dr. Norma Kirby, Karyn Kern-Lazear,

Sandy Royer and Marilyn Slusser

Important ADSOEF Date to Remember

July 25, 2023

ADSOEF Board of Directors Meeting at 10:00 AM


Brenda Armstrong, OSO State Member


Holly Buente, Gamma Pi

October 2022-June 2024

Linda Diltz, Beta Rho


Debra (Debbie) Frazier, Beta Rho


Dr. Lois Harkins, Alpha Lambda



Millie Holzer, Beta Zeta


Diana Kirkpatrick, Alpha Delta



Sue Loader, Alpha Psi


Vice Chairman

Tammy Schroeder, Beta Eta


Christine (Chris) Snoddy, Alpha Lambda



Melodie McGee, Gamma Nu


Ex-officio Ohio State Organization Liaison

OSO President

Dr. Norma K. Kirby, Alpha Delta

ADSOEF Registered Statutory Agent

Printable Newsletter


ADSOEF Website
OSO Website
ADSOEF Facebook 
ADSOEF Directors
ADSOEF Gift Giving
ADSOEF Educational Opportunities
ADSOEF/OSO Applications