In this issue:  
Recap of 2017-2018, New Executive Committee, and 2018-2019 Senate Meeting Dates  
Dear Colleagues:
Happy Summer! May 7, the Faculty Senate wrapped up the official business of the 2017-2018 Academic Year.  We had a busy and productive year. Our goal for the year was to increase and encourage communication between the Senate, Administration, Board of Trust, and faculty across the University. To that end, the Faculty Senate hosted many town hall discussions across campus on topics such as Shared Governance and Big Data.  In addition, the Faculty Manual Committee made significant progress updating, editing, and reformatting the Faculty Manual. Changes were also made providing for more inclusive pronoun language throughout the manual.
A change of particular importance to faculty is new language related to the Interpersonal and Family Relationship Policy. Faculty may want to familiarize themselves with the new policy.  
Many thanks to all of the Senators who served and contributed to the work of the Senate. Below you will find a list of other Senate accomplishments.  
*  Change to the Interpersonal and Family Relationship Policy
*  Change to the Technology, Literary, and Artistic Works Policy   
*  Establishment of DEI Committee and Charge Creation
*  Editing for style of the Constitution and Faculty Manual
*  Inclusion of the Dean of Basic Sciences (SOM) in Senate Voting
*  Promotion of the Pronoun Initiative  
*  Information regarding methods to be politically active as VU Faculty  
*  New Degree Programs Review  
*  Faculty Commons Initiative   
*  TIPS Review and Problem Solving
The Faculty Senate Welcomes the New Executive Committee
Victoria Greene, Chair (A&S) 
Stevenson Professor of Physics  
Jeremy Wilson, Vice Chair (Blair) 
Associate Professor of Trombone  
At the Senate's May 7 meeting, John McLean (College of Arts and Sciences) and Holly Algood (School of Medicine) were elected Chair-elect and Vice Chair-elect, respectively. They will join the Senate Executive Committee when their terms begin July 1, 2018.
Geoffrey Fleming and Leslie Hopkins will become Immediate Past Chair and Immediate Past Vice Chair.    
We are approaching the end of another great academic year and are busy prepping for the next. We have had several great events and robust discussions throughout 2017-18. We will continue to plan ways for your voices to be heard as we practice shared governance with faculty, Administration, and the Board of Trust, in traditional roles of r ecommending academic curricula and academic personnel policies, also in the strategic planning process, and in developing policies and procedures relative to improving the Vanderbilt community and protecting faculty rights.
As the centerpiece of Vanderbilt's academic governance, we continuously encourage your active participation in faculty decision-making and policy-setting while w e look forward to the upcoming year and our times together. 

The Executive Committee Bids Farewell
It is with heartfelt gratitude that we will bid farewell to Immediate Past Chair, Charlene Dewey (School of Medicine), and Immediate Past Vice Chair, Brian L. Heuser (Peabody).  
It has been a special privilege to work alongside them. They have been a much appreciated and highly regarded asset to the Faculty Senate. Their contributions are immeasurable. The value they have added with their wisdom and inspirational guidance is actually priceless.
Many thanks to both of them for their friendship, support, and service.  
CHARLENE & BRIAN, we will miss you! :-)


During the May 7 Faculty Senate Assembly meeting Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos recognized Senators who had served their three-year terms, 2015-2018, and were rolling off Senate. He and Chair Fleming presented appreciation certificates to the following Senators:  
  • Bapsi Chakravarthy, MD
  • Geoffrey M. Fleming, MD
  • Leslie Hopkins
  • David Merryman
  • Kevin D. Murphy
  • Jonathan Schildcrout
  • Benigno Trigo
 Senators rolling off included:
  • Sam Chang
  • Teresa Goddu
  • Dr. Jennifer K. Green
  • Michael Miga
  • Lucius T. Outlaw, Jr.
  • Geri Reeves
  • Sarah Rohde
  • Debbie Rowe
  • Fernando Segovia
  • Gayle Shay
  • Claire Smrekar
  • David Weintraub

Spring Faculty Assembly
At the April 5 Faculty Assembly in Langford Auditorium,
the faculty presentation by Kelly Holley-Bockelmann was awe-inspiring.
Faculty awards were given to deserving members of the Vanderbilt community.  
Award recipients were:
  • Jesse Ehrenfeld, Joseph A. Johnson, Jr. Distinguished Leadership Professor Award
  • Alan Wiseman, Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award
  • Kate Daniels, Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award
  • Sheri Shaneyfelt, Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching
  • Leigh Wadsworth, Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

From the Floor of the Senate
for all minutes, motions, and topics discussed during Senate meetings this year 


Faculty Senate Meetings 
  2018 - 2019   
                                                                 The meeting time is 4:10 pm - 5:30 pm.
    Flynn Auditorium (040) - Law School    


Monday, August 27, 2018   
Chancellor's Reception  
6:00 - 7:30 pm  
 University Residence
211 Deer Park Drive
Nashville, TN 37205 
  • September 13, 2018
  • October 4, 2018 (Elected Senators Only)
  • November 8, 2018
  • December 13, 2018 (Elected Senators Only)
  • January 10, 2019
  • February 7, 2019 (Elected Senators Only)
  • March 14, 2019
  • April 11, 2019 (Elected Senators Only)
  • May 6, 2019 (Reception to follow)
    Thoughts, Concerns, New Business:

 Please send your thoughts, concerns, or new business for the Executive Committee in
writing to the EC via email or anonymously via the

Your comments are appreciated.

                                                      Wishing you a safe, and relaxed summer !  
From Your 2017-2018

         The next Faculty Senate Meeting is on Thursday, 
                        If you have any questions, please contact:                        
   Debbie Hayes
   Administrative Manager