Contact Information
Anna Glazer, media contact 
 (858) 232-3220
Danielle Moorman, executive director
(817) 338-3488



August 29, 2012   




Davey O'Brien Watch List candidates go head-to-head in week one 

FORT WORTH, Texas -  The 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for week one, as chosen by fans on Facebook, features Davey O'Brien Watch List candidates AJ McCarron and Denard Robinson as they go head-to-head in the most anticipated opening-weekend contest.       


Throughout the season, the Davey O'Brien will highlight the best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22.  

Marquee Match-up: No. 8* Michigan vs. No. 2* Alabama at Cowboys Stadium

Saturday, September 1 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ABC - Cowboys Stadium Classic

Two of the most storied programs in college football will face off Saturday night in Arlington, Texas when Denard Robinson and the eighth-ranked Michigan Wolverines meet AJ McCarron and the defending national champion Alabama Crimson Tide on the gridiron.


Robinson, a 2011 Davey O'Brien Semifinalist, will try to overpower Alabama's rebuilt defense both on the ground and through the air, while McCarron will try to keep the Tide rolling towards another National Championship.


The Davey O'Brien Fan Vote, which counts as five percent of the voting process, will open on Tuesday, Sept. 4 and give fans an opportunity to voice their choice for the nation's best college quarterback. Fans are invited to cast their vote as often as once daily at


Other Notable Games (based on start times) 


Washington State (Jeff Tuel) at BYU (Riley Nelson)  

Thursday, August 30 at 9:15 p.m. (CT) on ESPN


Tennessee (Tyler Bray) vs. N.C. State (Mike Glennon) 

Friday, August 31 at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPNU

Western Michigan (Alex Carder) at Illinois (Nathan

Saturday, September 1 at 11 a.m. (CT) on ESPNU 


*All rankings reflect The Associated Press preseason Top 25 poll


About the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote

Beginning Tuesday, Sept. 4, fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.


About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit


 Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.  


# # #