From the Executive Director

Dear Members and Friends,

I hope this finds you well. It has been a busy first quarter, and we have plenty of exciting news to share!

In this issue, I'm pleased to announce the Charter Members of Preserve Arkansas's "40 for 40" Sustainer Circle, recap the Arkansas Preservation Awards, report on national, statewide, and local advocacy campaigns, and more. Of particular note, Preserve Arkansas is working with the Quapaw Quarter Association and Division of Arkansas Heritage to improve the State Historic Tax Credit during this legislative session. Continue reading to learn how you can help.

Preserve Arkansas is honored to be recognized with a 2020-21 Fay Jones School Dean's Medal, awarded annually to individuals and organizations who have contributed to the architecture and design culture of the State of Arkansas. The award will be presented in a virtual ceremony this Friday, March 19 at 6 p.m. You're invited to celebrate with us by registering here!

Thank you for your continued support. We look forward to seeing you in-person sooner rather than later.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Patton
Executive Director
40 for 40 Sustainer Circle
Charter Members
In honor of our 40th anniversary this year, Preserve Arkansas established the "40 for 40" Sustainer Circle, with the goal of creating a 40-member group of dedicated preservationists who pledge to support our organization with donations of at least $1,000 each year. We are especially grateful to our Charter Members, listed below.
Ms. Christina Aleman & Mr. Adam Smith
Ted & Leslie Belden
Jim & Kathy Boyette
Mr. and Mrs. Gary & Ann Clements
Courtney Crouch, Jr. & Brenda Crouch
Courtney & Amber Crouch
Fred Dietrich, D.D.S.
John C. Edwards
John & Marjem Gill
Dr. Ethel Goodstein
John & Tricia Greer
Stacy & Howard Hurst
Tommy & Christy Jameson
Jill Judy & Mark Brown
Bob Kempkes & Mary Matthews
The Honorable Pat & Mrs. Ellen McCabe
Frances McSwain & Ray Wittenberg
Carl H. Miller, Jr.
John K. Mott, FAIA
Mark & Cheri Nichols
Emily Jordan Robertson
Bart & Alix Stafford
Mark Stodola
Anthony Taylor & Michelle Strause
Ross Toyne
Dr. Charles & Mandy Welch
Ms. Laura Ann Winning
Darby & Amiee York
Arkansas Preservation Awards

Preserve Arkansas recognized Main Street Arkansas, recipient of the 2020 Parker Westbrook Award for Lifetime Achievement, and 15 outstanding preservation projects in a virtual ceremony on January 22, 2021. Click here to read more about all of our honorees. Congratulations to our award winners, and thank you to our sponsors and everyone who purchased tickets!
Preservation Advocacy
The State Historic Tax Credit (HTC) is an important financial incentive for the rehabilitation of Arkansas's historic buildings. It leverages private investment, creates jobs, enhances communities, and preserves our heritage. Preserve Arkansas is working with the Quapaw Quarter Association and Division of Arkansas Heritage to improve the State HTC with legislation introduced in late February. HB1555 would increase the annual State HTC cap from $4 million to $10 million per fiscal year, extend the program's sunset, and support personnel who administer the program. Arkansas historic rehabilitation projects have depleted the annual allocation of $4 million in State HTCs the past two fiscal years. There is a demonstrated need to increase the annual cap in order to keep projects moving forward.

We need your help!

We will keep you posted with Advocacy Alerts when the bill is scheduled for committee.
Preserve Arkansas Executive Director Rachel Patton served as state coordinator for National Historic Preservation Advocacy Week, held virtually for the first time, March 8-11. Arkansas's team of advocates consisted of 10 people from throughout the state. Virtual meetings were scheduled with all six Congressional offices to talk about the importance of the Historic Preservation Fund, which provides crucial funding for State Historic Preservation Offices throughout the country as well as competitive grant programs that preserve Historically Black Colleges and Universities, sites associated with the struggle for civil rights, and underrepresented and rural communities. We also requested temporary and permanent enhancements to the Federal Historic Tax Credit to address pandemic-related challenges and make it easier to complete small projects. If you would like to learn more about these initiatives, please contact Rachel Patton.
Preserve Arkansas continues to work with the Greater Hot Springs Chamber of Commerce to advocate for the protection and reuse of the Historic Army and Navy Hospital property at Hot Springs, which was included on our 2020 Most Endangered Places List. As of today, the Army and Navy Hospital property remains in state ownership. The Department of the Army will not accept ownership of the property until funds are made available for the Army Corps of Engineers to conduct building and site assessments required by law. The Army estimated the cost for these assessments at about $400,000. In other words, the Army is in no rush to accept the property from the State of Arkansas. Preserve Arkansas plans to coordinate an effort to reach out to newly confirmed Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland and petition her to reconsider the Interior Department's previous decision not to take custody of the property.
Women in Preservation
The "Women in Preservation" virtual speaker series features women from a variety of backgrounds who are working to save Arkansas's historic places. Make plans to join us on April 13 at 3:30 p.m. for our next webinar featuring Dr. Ann Ballard Bryan, co-owner of Bryan & Devan, LLC, and Instructor in the Department of Art & Design at the University of Central Arkansas. Women in Preservation is generously supported by DEMX Architecture.
Most Endangered Places Announcement
Preserve Arkansas will announce the 2021 Most Endangered Places List at a press conference on May 5 at 10 a.m. Stay tuned for the location and additional details.
Thank you to our Capital Partner!
Preserve Arkansas is the only statewide nonprofit advocate for the preservation of Arkansas's historic and cultural resources. Our organization works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. Become a member today!