For Immediate Release - April 8, 2024

Stedman Elementary School Principal Heather Conn was named the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals National Distinguished Principal for 2024.

The Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals is proud to announce our National Distinguished Principal for 2024 is Heather Conn, Principal of Stedman Elementary School in Petersburg, Alaska. 

Heather Conn was nominated and selected through a statewide search process conducted by the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals. Conn is a 4th generation Alaskan and a life-long resident of Petersburg. She graduated from the University of Alaska Southeast with a Masters of Elementary Education and Special Education, and went on to receive her M. Ed. in Educational Leadership from the University of Alaska Southeast in 2015. She is currently pursuing a PhD in School Psychology. Conn began her career as a Lead Teacher on the Lummi Indian Reservation at a Head Start. She taught at Tlingit and Haida Head Start in Petersburg and has taught in many different self-contained programs. Conn has been at Stedman Elementary since 2015 serving as a fourth-grade teacher and special education teacher before becoming principal in 2019.

Conn is a true educational and community leader. In addition to her leadership in the Petersburg City School District, she has previously served as a Board Member on the Viking Swim Club, the Community Advisory Board, and is currently serving as a Board Member of the Petersburg Medical Center. She also serves her community as a member of the Petersburg Indian Association Council.

Conn exemplifies what it means to be dedicated to student learning and her district. Petersburg City School District Superintendent Erica Kludt-Painter shares “Ms. Conn is so deserving of this award! Her skilled leadership, compassionate heart, and incredible work ethic are beyond compare!”  Conn will travel to Washington DC in October 2024 for two days of activities planned to honor and bring well-deserved recognition to the elementary administrators selected by their respective states.

The National Association of Elementary School Principals’ NDP Program was established in 1984 to recognize elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families, and staff in their learning communities. More information can be found at:

For more information, please contact Dominique Johnson, Public Information Officer, Alaska Council of School Administrators 
(907) 209-8783.


Leadership, Unity and Advocacy for Public Education.