November 6, 2023 - Stanardsville, VA - The American College of Bankruptcy announced today that the following insolvency professionals will be inducted as Fellows in the 35th Class of the College at its Annual Meeting, March 2024, in Washington, DC:

Adam M. Back

Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC

Lexington, KY


Hon. Janet S. Baer

U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Northern District of Illinois

Chicago, IL


Matt Barr

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

New York, NY


Carrianne J.M. Basler

AlixPartners LLP

Chicago, IL


Douglas A. Bates

Clark Partington

Pensacola, FL


Erin K. Brignola

Gellert Scali Busenkell & Brown, LLC

Wilmington, DE


Prof. Anthony J. Casey

University of Chicago Law School

Chicago, IL


Amy Caton

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP

New York, NY


Tiffany Strelow Cobb

Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP

Columbus, OH


Hon. Rebecca B. Connelly

U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Western District of Virginia

Harrisonburg, VA

Stephen A. Donato

Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC

Syracuse, NY


David Prelle Eron

Prelle Eron & Bailey, P.A.

Wichita, KS


Mark E. Felger

Cozen O’Connor

Wynnewood, PA


Valerie A. Hamilton

State of New Jersey

Office of the Attorney General

Trenton, NJ


Zul Jamal

Moelis & Company

New York, NY


Hon. Benjamin A. Kahn

U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Middle District of North Carolina

Greensboro, NC


Hon. Sean H. Lane

U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Southern District of New York

White Plains, NY


Bassam Latif

Moelis & Company

Houston, TX


Prof. Dr. Stephan Madaus

Martin Luther University


Halle, Germany


David B. Madoff

Madoff & Khoury LLP

Foxboro, MA

 Sarah Bolling Mancini

National Consumer Law Center

Atlanta, GA


D.J. Miller

Thornton Grout Finnigan LLP

Toronto, Canada


Jonathan “Joff” Mitchell

AlixPartners LLP

New York, NY


Samuel Asher Newman

Sidley Austin LLP

Los Angeles, CA


Jimmy D. Parrish

Baker Hostetler LLP

Orlando, FL


Ian T. Peck

Haynes and Boone LLP

Dallas, TX


Curtis L. Tuggle

Thompson Hine LLP

Cleveland, OH


Sherri Lyn Wattenbarger

Office of the United States Trustee

Kansas City, MO


Sharon Z. Weiss

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Santa Monica, CA


Hon. Mr. Justice Zacaroli

High Court of Justice,

England and Wales

London, England

The new Fellows are being honored and recognized for their professional excellence and exceptional contributions to the bankruptcy and insolvency practice. Patricia Redmond, Chair of the Board of Regents responsible for selecting these candidates, noted, “Representing a broad cross-section of our industry, these professionals exemplify the combination of exceptional talent and selfless service that is the hallmark of College Fellows. The Board of Regents is thrilled to welcome Class 35 and looks forward to celebrating each new Fellow in Washington DC this spring.”


The American College of Bankruptcy is an honorary public service association of United States and international insolvency professionals who are invited to join as Fellows based on a proven record of the highest standards of expertise, leadership, integrity, professionalism, scholarship, and service to the bankruptcy and insolvency practice and to their communities. The College facilitates the effective domestic and cross-border application of bankruptcy and insolvency laws and the administration of justice in the courts through, among other activities, conducting professional educational programs, sponsoring the publication of scholarly reports, and maintaining the National Bankruptcy Archives. The College also funds projects that improve the quality of bankruptcy law and practice, as well as access to justice, in particular through grants by its affiliated Foundation. The Foundation is believed to be the single largest financial supporter of pro bono bankruptcy services in the United States, contributing over $5 million since 2003. Underlying all of its work, the College is dedicated to enhancing professionalism, scholarship, and service in bankruptcy and insolvency law and practice, and to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion within the organization and across the insolvency profession.


Nominees are extended an invitation to join based on a sustained record of achievement. Candidates are selected by the College’s Board of Regents from recommendations of Circuit Admissions Councils in each federal judicial circuit and Judicial and International Nominating Committees.


College Fellows include United States and international business and consumer bankruptcy attorneys, judges and other government officials, corporate turnaround specialists, accountants, financial advisors, academics and other professionals who are experts in the field of bankruptcy and insolvency. Criteria for selection as a Fellow of the College include: the highest standards of professionalism, ethics, character, integrity, professional expertise and leadership contributing to the enhancement of bankruptcy and insolvency law and practice; sustained evidence of scholarship, teaching, lecturing or writing on bankruptcy or insolvency; community service; and commitment to elevating knowledge and understanding of the profession and public respect for the practice.


For more information about the American College of Bankruptcy, or about the 2024 Induction Ceremony, contact Shari A. Bedker, Executive Director, at 434-939-6004 or email at



- END -