January 10 , 2020

Inside this edition of Capitol Roundup:

House Rep. John Cyrier - former AGC Austin chairman - appointed to lead powerful Sunset Advisory Commission

Please feel free to forward this information to others and reply by email with any changes or additions you'd like to see.

Click here  to access past editions of Capitol Roundup.
AGC Texas Chapters

Quote of the Week:

"Obviously, we feel it's going to be an advantage playing at home, and we love that it is at home. But that's not going to win the game for you."
-LSU Football Coach Ed Orgeron

Louisiana State University football head coach Ed Orgeron made the comment ahead of college football's national championship game between LSU and Clemson on Monday, January 13, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

AGC member State Rep appointed as chairman to powerful Sunset Advisory Commission
Texas House Rep. John Cyrier (R-Lockhart) has been appointed to sit on the state Sunset Advisory Commission for the next four years and will chair the 12-member board for the next two years as it reviews and decides the fate of more than 130 state agencies.

AGC member Rep. Cyrier is the former chairman of AGC Austin and current owner and founder of Austin-based commercial general contracting company, Sabre Commercial, Inc.
House Rep. John Cyrier

House Speaker Dennis Bonnen announced his decision to appoint Rep. Cyrier to the commission late last month in a series of committee reshufflings. Bonnen called Rep. Cyrier a "champion for Texas' rich natural and recreational resources," specifically citing Rep. Cyrier's role in helping pass a constitutional amendment last year that ensures money from sales taxes at sporting goods stores goes to funding the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.

Rep. Cyrier - in his third term leading the 17th House District - also chairs the House Committee on Culture, Recreation and Tourism. The committee often works with the Parks and Wildlife Department, which is up for sunset review next year.

The Sunset Advisory Commission is tasked with identifying and eliminating waste, duplication, and inefficiency among the state's agencies. On a periodic basis, the commission questions the need for each agency, considers public input, and makes recommendations to the state Legislature.
The commission consists of five members of the Texas Senate and one member of the public, each appointed by the lieutenant governor, along with five members of the Texas House and one member of the public, each appointed by the House Speaker.
Currently, two seats for state senators remain open in addition to the seat for a member of the public appointed by Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick. The chairmanship rotates between the House and Senate every two years, and members cannot be removed from the board before their terms expire.

In addition to Rep. Cyrier, Bonnen also appointed Rep. Craig Goldman (R-Fort Worth) and and Rep. Terry Canales (D-Edinburg) to the commission. The three spots Bonnen filled were formerly held by Reps. Dan Flynn (R-Van), Poncho Nevarez (D-Eagle Pass), and Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston). Also on the board are Reps. Stan Lambert (R-Abilene), and Chris Paddie (R-Mashall).
The current senators on the board include Sens. Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury),  Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway), and Bob Hall (R-Edgewood). Each of them are halfway through serving their four-year terms. Sen. Birdwell has
served as the group's chairman for the past two years.
31 - Board of Directors Meeting (Pflugerville)
21 - Outstanding Construction Award submission deadline
24 - Board of Directors Meeting (Austin)

15-17 - 2020 AGC-TBB Convention (Gloucester, MA)

TBD - Outstanding Construction Awards
TBD - Board of Directors Meeting

20 - Board of Directors Meeting (Austin)