[ Published January 25, 2024 ]

TOWARDS THRIVING:


YOUR NEWSLETTER FROM

THE IDAHO COALITION AGAINST

SEXUAL & DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

a white background has 5 multicolor, collage-based people who resemble Black and brown people with distinct features; the tallest person is in the center of the image. small text at the bottom of the image credits the artist, Favianna Rodriguez.

HAPPENING TODAY: "Long COVID & Trauma" Panel


It may seem like everyone around you is sick, and that’s because January is typically when cases of respiratory viruses, such as the flu, COVID-19, and Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV), increase.


Stressespecially experiences of traumaimpact the body’s immune system, making us more vulnerable to illnesses like Long COVID.


What can we learn from the latest Long COVID research to protect our community from lasting impacts of the disease? How can a COVID-19 infection fundamentally change our bodies? And how does experiencing trauma impact our body’s immune system?


In this panel, we will learn from three speakers that have expertise in understanding and treating trauma, COVID-19, and Long COVID. Let’s discuss these connections so we can better understand how to support survivors experiencing trauma and illness. Bring any questions!


Thursday, January 25th

11AM-12PM HST / 12PM-1PM AKST / 1PM-2PM PST / 2PM-3PM MST / 3PM-4PM CST / PM-5PM EST / (7AM-8AM CHST on Friday, January 26th)

Register for this Panel's Zoom

Higher Rates, but Fewer Supports


Consider these facts:


  • According to the U.S. Department of State’s Trafficking in Persons Report, people with disabilities are “one of the groups most at risk of being trafficked."


  • Adolescent girls with physical disabilities were almost 5X more likely to experience sex trafficking than their counterparts without disabilities.


  • people with intellectual disabilities make up between 1 and 3% of the population, but 28% of girls who were sex trafficked in a review of case records in Florida.


Despite these higher rates and the fact that many of the landmark changes to trafficking laws were predicated on cases involving people with disabilities, there remains a widespread lack of awareness about trafficking in the lives of people with disabilities and a lack of identification tools and interventions specific to addressing trafficking of people with disabilities.

Learn More & Take Action With Activating Change

Beyond Criminalizing Domestic Violence


"When Bonnie called the police, all she wanted was to figure out how to get her car back.


Earlier that day, her boyfriend had assaulted her, then left in her car without her permission. 'Since that day,' Bonnie says, 'my life has fallen apart.' The police arrested her boyfriend, even though Bonnie repeatedly asked them not to. Over Bonnie’s objection, the court entered an order prohibiting Bonnie and her boyfriend from having contact.


Whenever Bonnie tried to talk with prosecutors, they dismissed her concerns. Bonnie felt hurt, overwhelmed, and angry. She could not understand why strangers got to make decisions that hugely impacted her life without her input.


Prosecutors charged Bonnie’s boyfriend. Although Bonnie did not want to participate, they subpoenaed her and forced her to testify. Her boyfriend was convicted and incarcerated, despite Bonnie’s insistence at sentencing that she did not want him to go to prison. Bonnie felt humiliated and dehumanized by the judge."

Continue Reading This Article by Leigh Goodmark

MORE IN THIS NEWSLETTER:


We feature 4 other training & event opportunities:







To access these training & events, click here.


...


We also offer FREE shipping to our program members for all store materials.


To check out our materials, click here.

a maroon graphic design with a multicolor, collage-based person created by Favianna Rodriguez. a thin yellow border decorates the outline, and white bulky text reads "training & events".
a maroon graphic design with two multicolor, collage-based people created by Favianna Rodriguez. a thin yellow border decorates the outline, and white bulky text reads "store materials".
Facts about Domestic Violence
Facts about Sexual Assault
Resources and Downloads
Join Our Newsletter
Web  TikTok  Facebook  YouTube  Instagram